Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR information

A how-to is an informal, often short, description of how to accomplish some specific task (Wikipedia)
NedHamilton
Posts: 588
Joined: 17 Apr 2012, 00:25
Location: North Carolina

Re: Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR informatio

Post by NedHamilton » 27 Jul 2013, 13:44

I tried Gert's procedure and got:
"DATALINK CONFIG INVALID"
Ned

User avatar
wpslider
Posts: 5098
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 18:38
Location: Faro - PT
Contact:

Re: Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR informatio

Post by wpslider » 27 Jul 2013, 13:52

NedHamilton wrote:
wpslider wrote:
You can adjust the screen yourself.

Regards
I have adjusted the screen and the fontfamily a lot so that now it shows all the panels just fine except this one "DLNK - APPLICATION MENU"

This title is just too long.
Edit menu.xml and change the frase DLNK - APPLICATION MENU to something smaller, like DLNK - APP MENU

Regards
Humberto Miguel
Image

User avatar
wpslider
Posts: 5098
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 18:38
Location: Faro - PT
Contact:

Re: Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR informatio

Post by wpslider » 27 Jul 2013, 14:41

belgianguy wrote:yes sometimes, I also get the message that no data is available.
Don't know for sure where the standard request is getting the weather from.
Standard requests are sent to prosim acars server. You can see server address on prosim config.

But as we all know ACARS is not functional yet
Humberto Miguel
Image

User avatar
dion73
Posts: 956
Joined: 25 Jan 2011, 20:04

Re: Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR informatio

Post by dion73 » 27 Jul 2013, 21:15

Wow :)
Works really nice, thanks!

Dion

User avatar
Midnight
Posts: 750
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 21:37
Location: Perth scotland
Contact:

Re: Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR informatio

Post by Midnight » 27 Jul 2013, 21:35

Workes great Any more tips :D :D
Image

chate123
Posts: 16
Joined: 17 Nov 2012, 21:09
Location: EHAM

Re: Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR informatio

Post by chate123 » 27 Jul 2013, 21:46

Works :D :D

User avatar
andthiel
Posts: 694
Joined: 12 Jul 2012, 09:02
Location: Essen - EDLE

Re: Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR informatio

Post by andthiel » 28 Jul 2013, 12:18

Hi folks,

has anybody got experience with small thermo printers (for ACARS and METAR messages only)?

I want to install one in my pedestal (RS 232 with a USB adapter).

Regards, Andreas
Beechboy Andreas


Image

User avatar
wpslider
Posts: 5098
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 18:38
Location: Faro - PT
Contact:

Re: Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR informatio

Post by wpslider » 28 Jul 2013, 12:50

[DISREGARD]

prosim prinsts to default printer.

In my first tests I could only print to LPT1

Regards
Last edited by wpslider on 29 Jul 2013, 11:44, edited 1 time in total.
Humberto Miguel
Image

NedHamilton
Posts: 588
Joined: 17 Apr 2012, 00:25
Location: North Carolina

Re: Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR informatio

Post by NedHamilton » 28 Jul 2013, 13:16

On Win7 my Prosim prints to default printer. (Maybe that's what LPT1 points to but I haven't set it specifically)
Ned

belgianguy
Posts: 2801
Joined: 29 May 2011, 20:45
Location: Belgium

Re: Create a custom CDU page that retrieves METAR informatio

Post by belgianguy » 28 Jul 2013, 15:35

andthiel wrote:Hi folks,

has anybody got experience with small thermo printers (for ACARS and METAR messages only)?

I want to install one in my pedestal (RS 232 with a USB adapter).

Regards, Andreas
Hello Andreas,

Check out this topic for more information regarding a thermal printer.
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=1157&hilit=acars+printer
Best Regards,
Gert

Post Reply

Return to “ProSim737 - How-tos”