BBJ Fuel capacity

User avatar
markusr
Posts: 399
Joined: 16 Jan 2011, 12:18
Location: Vienna
Contact:

BBJ Fuel capacity

Post by markusr » 01 Apr 2018, 20:24

Hi guys,

I am searching for the right config for the BBJ to modify the aircraft.cfg accordingly to fit in more fuel.

Code: Select all

[fuel]
Center1   = -5.9,	 0.0, -3.2, 4299, 0			//Longitudinal (feet), Lateral (feet), Vertical (feet), Usable(gallons), Unusable (gallons)
LeftMain  = -9.00, -16.8, -3.2, 1288, 0			//Longitudinal (feet), Lateral (feet), Vertical (feet), Usable(gallons), Unusable (gallons)
RightMain = -9.00,  16.8, -3.2, 1288, 0			//Longitudinal (feet), Lateral (feet), Vertical (feet), Usable(gallons), Unusable (gallons)
Are those 3 tanks enough to modify or do I need to add auxiliary tanks in the config as well?

Thanks a lot for any hints.
Markus
best regards from Vienna
Markus
My Homecockpit
Facebook Page
Youtube Channel
Twitter

Lapi
Posts: 2699
Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 02:00

Re: BBJ Fuel capacity

Post by Lapi » 01 Apr 2018, 20:46

markusr wrote:
01 Apr 2018, 20:24
Are those 3 tanks enough to modify or do I need to add auxiliary tanks in the config as well?
Hi Markus,

Increasing the capacity of the existing tanks is enough, but don't leave the "unusable" field at zero.

regards
Lapi

User avatar
markusr
Posts: 399
Joined: 16 Jan 2011, 12:18
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Re: BBJ Fuel capacity

Post by markusr » 01 Apr 2018, 20:50

Hi Lapi,

thanks for the Info.

The lines above are taken from the current 737-700 aicraft.cfg file, there the unusable is also "0". Should this be corrected?
best regards from Vienna
Markus
My Homecockpit
Facebook Page
Youtube Channel
Twitter

Lapi
Posts: 2699
Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 02:00

Re: BBJ Fuel capacity

Post by Lapi » 01 Apr 2018, 22:11

markusr wrote:
01 Apr 2018, 20:50
The lines above are taken from the current 737-700 aicraft.cfg file, there the unusable is also "0". Should this be corrected?
Yes, it's better and slightly more realistic to have it.
If I forgot to enter those values for the -700 then apologies...

regards
Lapi

User avatar
willow
Posts: 1934
Joined: 20 Jul 2011, 14:24
Location: Hobart, Van Diemen's Land, Terra Australis
Contact:

Re: BBJ Fuel capacity

Post by willow » 01 Apr 2018, 23:08

Hello Lapi

just for clarification and to avoid confusion.

What should the fuel figure be in the 700 series ?

We all can adjust the cfg file accordingly.

Thanks, WilloW
WilloW (YMHB) 🇦🇺
http://www.Flaps2Approach.com
Realism using OEM parts ✈️
Avatar: "Miss Tara Black Dog" (sadly missed....RIP Nov 2013)

Lapi
Posts: 2699
Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 02:00

Re: BBJ Fuel capacity

Post by Lapi » 01 Apr 2018, 23:38

willow wrote:
01 Apr 2018, 23:08
What should the fuel figure be in the 700 series ?
We all can adjust the cfg file accordingly.
Hi WilloW,

The capacity figures are the "official" ones, so no need for any change there, the -700 is the same as the -800. I set the unusable values at 0.5 for center and 0.3 for the L&R main tanks for the -800, but it can be any logical value. These figures are pretty low anyway, could be much more...
As far as I remember FS doesn't actually deal with the unusable figures other than deducting the value from the usable amount - but frankly I've never tested how it behaves when getting dry...

regards
Lapi

User avatar
willow
Posts: 1934
Joined: 20 Jul 2011, 14:24
Location: Hobart, Van Diemen's Land, Terra Australis
Contact:

Re: BBJ Fuel capacity

Post by willow » 02 Apr 2018, 00:01

Thanks Lapi. I will adjust the 700.cfg file accordingly to a figure for unusable that is above 0.0.

Best, WilloW
WilloW (YMHB) 🇦🇺
http://www.Flaps2Approach.com
Realism using OEM parts ✈️
Avatar: "Miss Tara Black Dog" (sadly missed....RIP Nov 2013)

User avatar
markusr
Posts: 399
Joined: 16 Jan 2011, 12:18
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Re: BBJ Fuel capacity

Post by markusr » 03 Apr 2018, 12:30

Hi,

my idea would be now to modify and test it to the following:

[fuel]
Center1 = -5.9, 0.0, -3.2, 8554, 0.5 //Longitudinal (feet), Lateral (feet), Vertical (feet), Usable(gallons), Unusable (gallons)
LeftMain = -9.00, -16.8, -3.2, 1226, 0.3 //Longitudinal (feet), Lateral (feet), Vertical (feet), Usable(gallons), Unusable (gallons)
RightMain = -9.00, 16.8, -3.2, 1226, 0.3 //Longitudinal (feet), Lateral (feet), Vertical (feet), Usable(gallons), Unusable (gallons)

If I made no error in calculation when changing from gal to l and to kg and all the way back, it should be:

BBJ 35000kg ( I chose this config, as I con find different values in the internet going from 31.000kg to 37.000kg)
Center: 27200kg = 32380l = 8554gal
Left: 3900kg = 4642l = 1226gal
Right: 3900kg = 4642l = 1226gal

Based on the weight of 0.840kg / liter for Jet A1 Fuel (which I found here)
Density 775.0-840.0 g/L
best regards from Vienna
Markus
My Homecockpit
Facebook Page
Youtube Channel
Twitter

crwk78
Posts: 108
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 13:20
Location: London

Re: BBJ Fuel capacity

Post by crwk78 » 12 Jun 2018, 18:08

Lapi,

I’m finding that despite having made the .cfg changes above, the Instructor Station and the CDU Maint Refuelling Page only allow the standard (non BBJ) maximum amounts of fuel for the centre tank, any chance that the CDU code can be amended to allow the centre rank to be filled up to the capacity specified in the .cfg?

Charlie K

User avatar
wpslider
Posts: 5101
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 18:38
Location: Faro - PT
Contact:

Re: BBJ Fuel capacity

Post by wpslider » 12 Jun 2018, 18:22

No. This would require big changes to ProSim.
It is not a matter of just adding fuel tanks, but more fuel pumps, more elements, etc...
As fuel is pumped from aux tanks to center tank, the whole logic behind needs to be changed.

Regards
Humberto Miguel
Image

Post Reply

Return to “ProSim737 Flight Model 2.0”